When Doing Wrong Becomes a Reason to be Proud

As parents, we strive to teach our children right from wrong, but there are moments when they may technically do something "wrong" yet earn our pride and admiration. One such incident stands out in my memory, involving my daughter and her martial arts skills.

My daughter had been training in the same martial art as me since she was young and had achieved a junior black belt by the time she was 10. I had always emphasized that her skills were never to be used on friends or classmates. However, a boy in her class, who had also studied martial arts, began to bully her, showcasing his skills by restraining her, trying to throw her off balance, and even bear-hugging her from behi

Despite my requests to the principal and the boy's parents, the behavior continued, and my daughter came home with bruises on her arm. That's when I decided to lift the restriction on using her fighting skills. I informed the principal, and he agreed that it was necessary.

The next time the boy tried to bully my daughter, she defended herself using her martial arts training. She didn't hurt him, but she stood up for herself and showed him that she wouldn't be intimidated. I was proud of her for taking a stand and protecting herself, even if it meant technically going against the rules.

In that moment, my daughter showed courage, resilience, and the ability to think on her feet. She learned that sometimes, standing up for oneself requires taking a stance, even if it means bending the rules. As a parent, it was a proud moment for me, seeing my child develop into a strong and confident individual.

Suggested Reading:

Reply

or to participate.