Understanding and Embracing Your New Family

The Secret to a Harmonious Marriage: 

 

As I embarked on my marital journey, I was advised to prioritize my husband's happiness above all else. However, I soon realized that in India, marriage extends beyond just two individuals – it's a union with an entire family. I was intimidated by the prospect of managing relationships with my in-laws, but my husband's wise words changed my perspective.

He told me, "Your mother's house is your home, and your in-laws' house is your home too. Be open and understanding, and it will become easier." He also reminded me that my in-laws would not scold or correct me if I were a stranger, so I should embrace their guidance.

I took his advice to heart and made a conscious effort to connect with my mother-in-law. I realized that she had managed the household for 40 years and didn't want to relinquish her role. So, I started asking for her input and involving her in decision-making. This small gesture earned her respect and appreciation.

I also made sure to help with household chores and support her in her daily tasks. As a result, I became her favorite in the house, and she began to respect me more than my sister-in-law. When mother-in-law is happy, father-in-law is happy too! I also made an effort to befriend my younger sister-in-law and brother-in-law, and we developed a cordial relationship.

Sponsored
Bold Doesn't Look BackA movement giving women the resources and opportunity to discover their power

My husband's wisdom helped me understand that my in-laws' house is indeed my home, and we are all part of one family. When every member is happy, the husband is automatically happy and satisfied. Unfortunately, many girls today face rifts with their in-laws soon after marriage. But with understanding, empathy, and open communication, we can build a harmonious and loving family.

Remember, your in-laws will be with you for life, and it's crucial to nurture these relationships. By doing so, you'll create a happy and supportive environment where everyone thrives. As I've learned, a little effort and understanding can go a long way in building a beautiful family.

Suggested Readings :

Reply

or to participate.