The Sweet Struggle of Understanding Each Other

The joys of marriage! It's amazing how a simple conversation can turn into a hilarious misunderstanding. I still chuckle thinking about the time my husband and I had a "who's-more-clueless" contest.

It was a lazy Saturday, and I was feeling under the weather for the first time since we tied the knot. My loving husband, with all his might, tried to take care of me. He asked if I wanted something to eat, and I, in my infinite wisdom, replied, "No, I don't feel like eating anything." Little did I know, my husband would take that statement as the gospel truth.

Sponsored
The Fourth StripeA weekly Jiu-Jitsu newsletter designed to help grapplers of all backgrounds improve their health and understand the nuances of modern techniques...all without the social media fluff.

Fast forward a few hours, and I'm feeling worse, both physically and emotionally. I'm thinking, "Why hasn't he even bothered to check on me or bring me some tea?" I mean, isn't that what husbands are for? So, I summon all my energy and call out to him, "Hey, you didn't give me anything to eat all day. Do you even care for me?"

His response? A genuine, "You said you didn't want to eat anything, so I didn't want to bother you!" Facepalm moment! I realized I had married a man who took things a bit too literally. I mean, come on! Doesn't he know that when a woman says she doesn't want to eat, she actually means she wants to be pampered and fed like a queen?

Sponsored
Effective HabitsReceive actionable, evidence-based strategies and tools to help you build a happy, healthy, and productive life

But, being the good sport he is, he learned from his mistake. Two weeks later, we had another "lovely" conversation. I was upset with him (for reasons I can't even remember now), and I told him, "Don't try to talk to me ever. I don't even want to see you."

His response? "Is it like that time when you said you didn't want to eat but actually wanted me to take care of you? Or do you really mean it this time?" I was taken aback by his innocence and sincerity. All my anger melted away, and I couldn't help but laugh at the absurdity of it all.

Sponsored
NeuroTycoonGet easy tips to make your brain better and win in business, in just 3 minutes a week.

I've come to realize that my husband's lack of experience with women (no sisters, few female friends) has led to some hilarious misunderstandings. But, hey, at least he's willing to learn! And, let's be real, it's adorable how he tries to navigate the complex world of woman psychology.

So, to all the husbands out there, take heed! When your wife says she doesn't want to eat, it means she wants a five-course meal served in bed. And when she says she doesn't want to talk, it means she wants you to listen to her for hours on end. Just kidding ( sort of )! But, in all seriousness, marriage is a journey of learning and growing together, and I'm grateful to have a partner who makes me laugh, even on my worst days.

Suggested Reading

Reply

or to participate.