Saddest Smile In History

I'm not sure if it is saddest smile in history but my eyes watered, when I saw this photo years ago. This photo was taken on March 16, 2017 by Ali Al-Fahdawi at Mosul, a city in northern Iraq, during war between Iraqi forces and Islamic State group. More than 98,000 people found refuge in camps established near Mosul.

Al-Fahdawi told, “I was in the battle with the army on the front line, and this girl with her family was running away from the bombing and bombs, heading towards us, and her picture was crying. When she saw me, I smiled a little and (she) had a smile on her face and a sadness. It was the decisive moment to take the photo."

When the photographer pointed the camera towards her, her face displayed two mixed emotions of sadness and fear, with a smile.

Suggested Readings

Reply

or to participate.