A Life-Changing Moment

Sponsored by

These stories are presented thanks to beehiiv, an all-in-one newsletter suite built by the early Morning Brew team.

Fully equipped with built-in growth and monetization tools, no code website and newsletter builder, and best-in-class analytics that actually move the needle.

The top newsletters in the world are built on beehiiv, and yours can be too. It's the most affordable option in the market, and you can try it for free — no credit card required.

Victims of the 2008 Great Recession, we were forced to foreclose on our home and move to seven years in a scary ghetto neighborhood to get back on our feet. For the purposes of telling this story is just to know that we spent a full ten years in no-kidding painful poverty: hunger, food banks, charity, cold, overwork, unemployment, injury, crime, collections, suffering, embarrassment, near-homelessness.

We dreamed of moving to Florida. We loved our honeymoon there, and hoped to one day retire there, and leave behind a city that over thirty years we had both come to despise. But I need to get the gas service turned back on first.

Slowly, painfully, with a great deal of work and determination and too much time, we crawled out of our financial pit. The foreclosure fell off our credit reports. Our FICO improved. There was a little money in the bank. We tentatively applied for and received approval on a mortgage prequalification. I wept.

We discussed where to shop for real estate. I loved my job and it was the highest salary I had ever earned. We had absolutely no other ties to our hated home town but I was reluctant to quit. So we shopped for real estate, and discovered that all we can afford are fixer-uppers. We spent a year, casually shopping without finding anything that wowed us, and every month in the ghetto meant more money squirreled away.

Then I got a new management team at my job and suddenly the job I loved, not so much. I worried that I’d be pushed out. I asked for remedial trading and didn’t get it. It didn’t feel good.

After a decade of near-starvation and near-homelessness, there was enough cash that I felt comfortable booking a week in Orlando. And if I’m gonna lose my job, I’ll be damned if I’m gonna lose my first vacation benefits in a decade. If they’re gonna let me go, I’m going on vacation first. I prepaid everything, nonrefundable, to keep costs down. Because at that point I’d had plenty of training in keeping costs down.

Three weeks before our flight I received an upsetting email from my supervisor. I asked for a Friday morning appointment to discuss my future. She ignored me. No meeting, no advice.

I went home that Friday afternoon and told my husband that it is time to start looking for another job in earnest. Then I opened the Friday afternoon mail to discover our eviction letter. My slumlord had sold my ghetto shack and gave us 100 days to get out.

We called a Florida realtor and a mortgage broker on Monday. Three weeks later we gave up Wednesday’s prepaid Disney tickets to spend all day looking at properties. We could afford a lot more house in Florida; no fixer-uppers. We bid on two and went back to our vacation. On Friday, 24 hours before our return flight, our realtor called to say a seller had accepted; come sign.

After we’d signed the contract, we asked our realtor to recommend a restaurant where locals go. Because the ink wasn’t dry yet, but we are no longer Florida tourists.

We left our realtor to drive to the restaurant, but we made a pit stop at the beach, three miles from the home we had just purchased. I left my shoes in the car and walked barefoot in the sand, hand-in-hand with my husband. For a few minutes, we both just stood in silence, looking at the ocean. Then I said,

”Did we do what I think we just did?”

”Yep, we did.”

I was quiet for another minute. Then I wiggled my toes in the sand.

”Is this the rest of our lives?”

”Yep, I think so.”

Then he kissed me, and our lives were changed forever.

Suggested Reading

Reply

or to participate.