The Invisible Push: Why We Pull Away When We're Depressed

Have you ever stopped reaching out to friends because you felt like a burden? Convinced your negativity is contagious? You're not alone. Depression has a sneaky way of turning our inner voice into a cruel critic, making us push away the very people who care.

Here's the truth:

  1. I have nothing interesting to say.

  2. I have nothing positive to say.

  3. I don’t deserve friends.

  4. I can see they’re not enjoying talking to me.

  5. I can hear they’re not enjoying talking to me.

  6. They’re lying to me about liking me. Do they think I can’t tell?

  7. No one is ever going to love me.

  8. I should really give them a break. I’m being so needy.

  9. Good people can make themselves happy. I’m a horrible person.

  10. I shouldn’t subject other people to me.

  11. They’re so nice; they deserve better company than me.

  12. If I leave them alone for a while, maybe they won’t mind so much when they talk to me.

  13. If I save up funny and positive stories, rare as they are, maybe I’ll amuse them. I can just be quiet and keep to myself otherwise.

  14. I’m always the one reaching out. I know they don’t like me; I know why they don’t like me, but why does it have to be so obvious that they don’t?

  15. Why can’t I enjoy anything? If I enjoyed something, I could share that joy and make other people happy too.

  16. If I talk to people, I’ll just depress them.

  17. I always go back to this. If I let people get close to me, they’ll always be exposed to this. I don’t want that for my enemies, much less the people I adore.

  18. People prone to this really shouldn’t make friends. The pain they inflict on other people isn’t fair. It’s selfish of me to want company.

  19. If I talk to this new person, they’re going to discover I’m mentally ill. When they do, they won’t like me anymore.

  20. It’s easier to be alone. When I’m alone, I don’t hurt anyone but me.

Reply

or to participate.