• Knowledge Wisdom
  • Posts
  • The Bittersweet Wisdom of Age: 7 Life Lessons I Wish I Knew Sooner

The Bittersweet Wisdom of Age: 7 Life Lessons I Wish I Knew Sooner

Shift Happens

As I sit in the twilight of my years, I am reminded of the fleeting nature of time. It slips through our fingers like sand, leaving behind only memories and the wisdom of experience. As I look back on my journey, I am compelled to share seven poignant lessons that have shaped my perspective on life.

Lesson 1: Time Flies

Time passes much more quickly than you realize. Don't let its passage catch you off guard; cherish every second.

Lesson 2: Take Care of Your Body

If you don't take care of your body early, it won't take care of you later. Your world becomes smaller each day as you lose mobility, continence, and sight.

Lesson 3: Money Matters

Money talks. It says "Goodbye." If you don't plan your finances for later in life, you'll wish you had.

Lesson 4: People Over Possessions

People are far more important than any other thing in your life. No hobby, interest, book, or work is going to be as important to you as the people you spend time with as you get older.

Lesson 5: Reap What You Sow

Any seeds you planted in the past, either good or bad, will begin to bear fruit and affect the quality of your life as you get older - for better or worse.

Lesson 6: Let Go of Jealousy

Jealousy is a wasted emotion. People you hate are going to succeed. People you like are going to sometimes do better than you did. Kids are going to be smarter and quicker than you are. Accept it with grace.

Lesson 7: Don't Let Possessions Own You

That big house you had to have becomes a bigger and bigger burden, even as the mortgage gets smaller. The cleaning, the maintenance, the stairs - all of it. Don't let your possessions own you.

As I reflect on these lessons, I am reminded that life is precious, fragile, and fleeting. May we all learn to cherish its beauty, cultivate meaningful connections, and live with intention and purpose.

Sponsored
The Enlightened SamuraiYour Personal Source of Wisdom, Enlightenment, and Power. Subscribe to become the Greatest Version of Yourself

Suggested Readings

Reply

or to participate.